(1) The top American Male and Female finishers in the 2008 World 24-Hour (pending achieving the minimum distances of 135.0 miles for Men and 120.0 Miles for Women) will be automatically selected for the U.S. Team to the 2009 World Championship 24-Hour, which will be held in Bergamo, ITALY on May 2-3, 2009. [Note: Phil McCarthy and Jamie Donaldson were the top Americans, met the standards, and are the initial members of the 2009 team]

(2) The top American Male and Female finishers in the 2008 U.S. National 24-Hour Run Championship (pending the same standards of 135.0 Miles for Men and 120.0 Miles for Women), to be held at The Ultracentric Experience 24-Hour in McKinney, Texas on Nov. 15-16 of this year, will join the top American World 24-Hour finishers as automatic selections to the 2009 team.

(3) Remaining positions on the men's and women's teams (up to a total team membership of 6 men and 6 women) will be filled based on 24-hour performances on certified (or otherwise known to be accurate in cases where certification is impractical) courses or tracks, in rank order, achieved between July 1, 2007 and January 1, 2009.

(4) Once team members have been notified of their selection, and acceptance confirmations have been made by the athletes, public announcement of the team members will be made as soon as practicable in year 2009.