American Team for 2004 100km World Cup Selected 

16 April 2004

Eagle, Wisconsin. The American Ultrarunning Association (AUA) has selected the American Team to compete in the 2004 100km World Cup to be held September 11th  in Winschoten, The Netherlands. The United States has enjoyed great success at the Winschoten venue, highlighted by the World and American records set by the team there in the 1995 World 100km title race.  Individual Bronze medalist Tom Johnson's 6:30:11 American Record for the distance still stands today.  Individual Gold medalist Ann Trason set a World mark of 7:00:47 in leading the USA women to the team Gold medal with a world record team time (22:28:20) which has yet to be bettered, almost a decade later.  Johnson led the American men to the team Silver medal on that same memorable day. 

In 2000 Winschoten hosted the World 100km for the third time, and American Dan Held took 4th in 6:33:12, leading the American Men to a second place team silver medal, while the USA Women, led by Deb Bollig, would capture the team bronze.  Over the last 11 years in world 100km competition, at Winschoten and other venues, American teams have garnered a total of eight team and three individual medal podium finishes. 

This year's American team members are: 

Tim Clement, Solon, OH 
Mark Godale, Aurora, OH 
David Mackey, Boulder, CO 
Howard Nippert, Pembroke, VA 
Chad Ricklefs, Boulder, CO 
Mark Werner, Rochester, MI 

Alternates (in order) 
Alex Tilson, Burlingame, CA 
Charles Hubbard, Bloomington, MN 
Bob Sweeney, Ryebrook, NY 

Connie Gardner, Medina, OH 
Ann Heaslett, Madison, WI 
Nikki Kimball, Elizabethtown, NY 
Ellen McCurtin, Danbury, CT 
Anne Riddle, Swannanoa, NC 
Anthea Schmid, Crested Butte, CO 

Alternates (in order) 
Siri Terjesen, London, ENGLAND 
Tania Pacev, Littleton, CO 
Jennifer Pfeifer, Sacramento, CA 

For more information, contact AUA president Kevin Setnes at 262-495-3474 

AUA Home

AUA © 2004 All Rights Reserved.